Results of Athletes Commission Election for European Members

Following communication on the election process and published nominated Athletes list we moved to voting. There were 3 athletes from Europe that were moved to voting stage where two will be selected to Commission. The list is presented below together with final percentage of vote. On November 30th 2023, voting took place in person during 2023 IAU 24H World Championships in Taipei and online as well.

After counting of all votes, the Election Committee is sharing the voting results.

  • Aleksandr Sorokin (LTU) 46,4%
  • Torbjörn Gyllebring (SWE) 10,7%
  • Patrycja Bereznowska (POL) 42,9%

We confirm that Patrycja Bereznowska and Aleksandr Sorokin were elected as members of Athletes Commission representing Europe.

We are moving now to final stage of the process and on December 15th 2023, the final list of Athletes Commission members will be published. Below we present remining timelines:

  • Elections on 30th November 2023 in Taipei during 2023 IAU 24H WC - completed
  • Council election approval from 2nd December till 14th December 2023
  • Publication of the final list of IAU Athletes Commission members on December 15th 2023
  • Appointment period 2024 – 2028
  • Next election 2028


On behalf of Athletes Commission

Jacek Bedkowski

IAU Director of Communication

Results of Athletes Commission Election for European Members

Contact us in Social Networks