First IAU Athletes Commission meeting

On January 14th 2024, newly elected IAU Athletes Commission hold the first zoom meeting. The commission was elected for the period of 2023-2028. The main objective was to introduce all members of the commission, nominate commission Chair and Vice-Chair as well as work on next meetings. From IAU present on the call was Nadeem Khan, who welcome all the athletes on the inaugural call. Jacek Bedkowski representing IAU was hosting the call and after introduction move to nomination of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission.

Emily Harrison Torrence was voted the Chair of the Commission and Corrina Black Vice-Chair. Both were voted unanimously by member of the Commission. IAU representative did not vote as they are not voting members. Congratulation to Emily and Corrina taking the leadership of the Commission.

Finally, Emily as new Chair of the commission took over the meeting. It was agreed that next call will take place in the following weeks.

All the members are listed below and can be found at IAU website


IAU Athletes Commission Chair

Emily Harrison Torrence

IAU Athletes Commission Vice-Chair

Corrina Black



  • Jeff Campbell CAN (Americas)
  • Corrina Black AUS (Asia & Oceania)
  • Patrycja Bereznowska POL (Europe)
  • Emily Harrison Torrence USA (Americas)
  • Alexandr Sorokin LTU (Europe)
  • Amar Choudhary IND (Asia & Oceania)
  • Deanne Laubscher RSA (Africa)


On behalf of IAU Athletes Commission

Jacek Bedkowski

IAU Director of Communication.

First IAU Athletes Commission meeting

Contact us in Social Networks