IAU Labelling Committee

IAU Labelling Committee

It is our great pleasure to inform you that starting from January 2021 there will be a new IAU Labelling Committee to manage the IAU labelling system.  We are very grateful to both Jan Vandendriessche and Hilary Walker for separately managing the scheme for the 12 years. Diana Amza from Romania will chair the new committee and Armand Leblanc from Canada will be the Vice-Chair. There are representatives from each region on the Committee to further strengthen and increase Label coverage across the globe. You can see all members below. 

  • Diana Amza (ROU), Chair
  • Armand Leblanc (CAN), Vice Chair
  • Anastasia Zhyla (BLR)
  • David Kennedy (AUS)
  • Hilmy Aboud Said (COM)
  • Sunil Chainani (IND)
  • Mercedes Acuna (ARG)
  • Jari Tomppo (FIN)
  • Walter Hill (IAU)

The Committee will handle the labelling activities and will authorise the labels.

The global nature of the committee shows our commitment to expanding the labeling program across to all parts of the world. I am confident that the labeling committee will push our labeling portfolio further out and sign up more races to the program. I want to thank Jan for initiating the idea for IAU labels over a decade back and Hilary has done a great job administering the labels over several stints in her time on the Council. Nadeem Khan, IAU President

Please join us in congratulating the Team and in wishing lots of success in expanding the number of labeled races around the world.

IAU Executive Committee.

January 12th

IAU Labelling Committee

Contact us in Social Networks