IAU Athletes Commission new Chair and Vice Chair

The Athletes Commission was established in 2018 and Wayne Botha from New Zealand was appointed as Chair of the IAU Athletes Commission. At the same time Virginia Oliveri become the Vice-Chair. The organisation was established with 15 members including two IAU Council members as well.

We are very happy to announce that Pablo Barnes (ARG) was appointed as new Chair of the Athletes Commission and Anjali Saraogi (IND) as Vice-Chair.

Being appointed as the first Chair of the IAU Athletes Commission has undoubtedly been one of the greatest privileges of my career. It is an incredible honour to be able to represent the ultrarunning community and together with Viginia Oliveri (Vice-Chair) and eleven of the worlds most dedicated and passionate ultrarunners, we as the Athletes Commission pride ourselves in being the voice of the athlete. The time has come for Virginia and myself to step aside and hand over the reigns to a new Chair and Vice-Chair to take us in to the next term.

Wayne Botha, first Athletes Commission Chair

Running has been a very important part of my life in the las 25 years, in this time I had the possibility to run many races and meet a lot of people from around the world, I was lucky to compete in several IAU world championships and I love this sport that's why for me Is a great honour to become the Chair of the Athletes Commission. I'm looking forward to work with all the good people that will be part.

Pablo Barnes, new Chair of the Athletes Commission

I want to thank Wayne and Virginia for their diligent effort in taking over the inaugural Chair and Vice Chair of the IAU Athletes Commission. This was a difficult task, but they did an outstanding job in championing the Commission and being the voices of thousands of athletes globally. I want to also congratulate Pablo and Anjali in getting nominated by their peers on the Commission and stepping in the roles as we move towards 2023 and the elections for the membership to the Commission. I am confident that their leadership will be strong, and the Commission will continue progressing under their watch.

Nadeem Khan, IAU President

The athletes are the ones for whom we do all this and what all ultra marathon practitioners have accomplished is just incredible and through the commission that represents them and their leaders, we can only be even more motivated and have bigger goals despite the pandemic. Good luck to all and happy New Year's Eve

Hilmy Aboud Said, IAU Director of Marketing and Global Development

Please join us and congratulate to Pablo and Anjali on the new positions.

Jacek Bedkowski

IAU Director of Communication

IAU Athletes Commission new Chair and Vice Chair

Contact us in Social Networks