

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ULTRARUNNERS

IAU Congress 2012 21st April, Seregno, Italy Draft Minutes

In Attendance

Executive Council 2008-2012 And IAU Area Representatives

Dirk Strumane – President

Roger Bonnifait

James Evans

Liesbeth Jansen

Nadeem Khan

Souhei Kobayashi

Roy Pirrung

Jan Vandendriessche

Norman Wilson

Hilary Walker - General Secretary

Apologies

Stefano Scevaroli

Member Federations

present.

Australia

Austria

Belgium

Belarus

Canada

Croatia

Czech Republic

Spain

Finland

France

Great Britain

Germany

Greece

Hungary

Ireland

Iceland

Italy

Japan

South Korea

Latvia

Lithuania Mexico Mongolia

FYR Macedonia (no vote)

Nederlands Norway South Africa Russia Slovakia Sweden Ukraine

United States of America.

Congress 2012

Dirk Strumane, President, opened Congress by welcoming the member federations present. This was a record number of 32 countries with 31 eligible to vote.

The EC had prepared a report on the IAU activities for the full four years of the last two years. This had been circulated just prior to Congress and the President presented it to the meeting. (Available on the website) The President's speech is also available on the website.

Jan Vandendriessche presented the financial statement for the IAU which was circulated to members present at the meeting.(Downloadable from IAU website)

Hilary Walker, General Secretary, then explained the procedures for the Elections. At the Congress in 2010, the voting system had been revised to using an Absolute Majority for the first vote for a candidate to be elected with a simple majority being required for a second vote. The Executive Council proposed that Pierre Weiss (IAAF) and Brian Keaveney (WMA) should be appointed scrutineers and Congress approved this unanimously.

The candidates for the contested positions on the Executive Council gave a 2 minute introduction of themselves before the Elections took place.

The results of the Elections were as follows

President Dirk Strumane BEL (uncontested) Vice President Liesbeth Jansen NED (on the first vote) Directors Richard Donovan IRL (on the second vote) Nadeem Khan CAN (on the first vote) Jan Vandendriessche BEL (on the first vote) GBR (on the second vote) Norman Wilson General Secretary Hilary Walker GBR (uncontested)

Area Representatives.

European Paco Rico ESP

Americas to be decided*
Asia to be decided*
Africa and Oceania to be decided*

*Three Areas had 50% or less of their eligible representative present at Congress to vote so a postal vote would take place. The countries eligible to vote will have two weeks to register their vote with the General Secretary.

Membership of the IAU Committees will be considered by the new IAU Executive Council in its early meetings.

The President thanked Congress for its work and also the outgoing Executive Council member, Roger Bonnifait for his excellent work for the last 8 years on the Council. Congress was then closed.

Hilary Walker IAU General Secretary 28/4/2012