

Virtual IAU Congress 2021 22nd May 2021 Minutes Final Version.

In Attendance

IAU Executive Council Nadeem Khan, Robert Boyce, Liesbeth Jansen, Paco Rico, Jacek Bedkowski, Solomon Ogba, Fabian Campanini, Walter Hill, Gillsoo Park.

Member Federations

Argentina, Australia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain and NI, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Romania, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, United States of America, Uruguay, Zambia.

Due to the ongoing Covid-19 situation, the IAU Congress in 2020 had been postponed and member federations had agreed to it being held in a virtual format. This took place on 22nd May 2021 starting at midday GMT

Nadeem Khan, President, chaired the meeting with Hilary Walker as General Secretary taking the minutes. 35 countries were present on the zoom conference. The IAU has 96 members currently with 95 able to vote. 48 Members need to be present for a quorate Congress. As a result, Article 15.5 of the IAU constitution needed to be implemented.

The President closed the meeting and opened the second meeting as per Article 15.5

The President welcomed the federations to the Congress and Congress held a minute's silence in memory of those lost in the Covid-19 pandemic.

The draft minutes from the 2018 Congress held in Sveti Martin, Croatia on 7th September 2018 have been on the IAU website for all member federations to review. There were no comments provided during Congress. Ecuador proposed and Germany seconded that the minutes be agreed as final. Congress approved the 2018 Congress minutes.

The IAU Executive Council then reported on their work during the last three years from September 2018 until April 2021. This written report had been circulated to all member federations prior to the meeting, as well as summarized by each council member in their oral report to Congress according to their respective area of responsibility. All Congress documentation is available on the attached link

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/c3l42gt83ustvgi/AAD6IXSnoTTj08dUm4Ggfp55a?dl=0

The financial report for 2020 was reviewed by treasurer Robert Boyce (Document 18-5) with especial reference to the Covid situation and lack of competition. There were no questions, and the financial report was approved.

The President closed the general section of the Congress by thanking all the Executive Council and members of the committees for all their hard work over the last few years and handed over to the General Secretary to move to the Election Procedures following IAU Constitutional principles.

The elections would take place electronically and sequentially in 24-hour intervals to allow for the different time zones. **Matthias Reick** (GER) and **Frank Kuo** (TPE) had been observing the election preparations and process and were ratified as the election scrutineers. The IAU Council were very grateful for their continued work over the week of elections.

There were four positions in which there was a single candidate and Matthias Reick took the chair for the first of these elections to declare that **Nadeem Khan (CAN)** had been elected **President** and welcomed him to the Chair. The President then announced the following candidates had been elected.

Hilary Walker (GBR) as General Secretary Solomon Ogba (NGR)as Area Representative for Africa and Fabian Campanini (ARG) as Area Representative for the Americas.

The electronic elections then followed over a number of days. There had been 49 federations registered to vote and for most of the elections there were 43 valid ballots received..

Robert Boyce (AUS) was elected **Vice President** on the first round of voting receiving 25 votes of those cast.

In the first round of the election for **EC directors**/members **Diana Amza (ROM)** was elected as she had an absolute majority of 28 votes from 41 valid ballots.

In the second round where only a simple majority was required the following Directors were elected.

Jacek Bedkowski (POL)	19 votes
Paco Rico (ESP)	19 votes
Hilmy Aboud Said (COM)	17 votes

The elections for the Area Representative for Europe and the Area Representative for Asia & Oceania were run concurrently for their respective member federations.

The Area Representative for Asia and Oceania election had 10 valid ballots and Nagaraj Adiga (IND) was elected with 7 votes.

There was no absolute majority on the first round for the **European Area Representative** and on the second round **Gregorio Zucchinali (ITA)** was elected with 9 votes.

The elections closed the final part of Congress on 27th May at 9 pm GMT.

Hilary Walker IAU General Secretary 27thMay 2021.

Agreed as Final version on Minutes at IAU Congress 30th November 2023.

For Reference.

IAU Executive Council and Area Representatives for 2021 – 2025.

- Nadeem Khan (CAN) IAU President
- Robert Boyce (AUS) IAU Vice President
- Hilary Walker (GBR) IAU General Secretary
- Diana Amza (ROM) IAU Director
- Hilmy Aboud Said (COM) IAU Director
- Jacek Bedkowski (POL) IAU Director
- Paco Rico (ESP) IAU Director
- Arturo Fabian Campanini Lopez (ARG) Americas Representative
- Solomon Ogba (NGR) Africa Representative
- Nagaraj Adiga (IND) Asia & Oceania Representative
- Gregorio Zucchinali (ITA) Europe Representative